GCSE Options

Students at Excellence Girls Academy study a broad and balanced GCSE curriculum encompassing a range of subjects that prepare them for ambitious future destinations.

Most pupils follow a combination of subjects which will enable them to achieve the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) (see below) and will sit GCSEs in year 11.

Core GCSE subjects:

English Language (AQA)Maths (Edexcel)Citizenship (AQA)
English Literature (AQA)Science - Combined (AQA)Religious Studies (AQA)

GCSE Options:

Option 1: HumanitiesOption 2: LanguagesOption 3: Social Sciences
Geography (AQA)Arabic (AQA)Psychology (AQA)
History (AQA)Urdu (AQA)Business Studies (AQA)
French (AQA)

What is the EBacc?

The EBacc is a combination of GCSE subjects that offer an important range of knowledge and skills to young people.

The Department for Education recommends the following subjects, which make up the English Baccalaureate (EBacc), and help keep options for young people open:

  • English language and English literature
  • Maths
  • Science – Combined science or 3 single sciences from Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Computer science
  • History or Geography
  • A language (Ancient or modern)

Our GCSE offer is based around the EBacc to give students access to a full range of employment options when they leave secondary school and the broad knowledge that employers  are looking for. If they are thinking of going to university, the EBacc is also recommended by Britain’s most prestigious universities.

While arts are not included in the EBacc, we believe every child should still experience a high-quality arts and cultural education throughout their time at school as part of a balanced curriculum which is why we also include an arts option at GCSE.

Students will also continue to participate in Physical Education and enrichment activities throughout their GCSE studies.

For further information, please see gov.uk.

How are GCSEs graded?

Since 2017, GCSEs are graded from 9 to 1, with 9 being the top grade. Combined science is graded from 9-9 to 1-1.

The infographic below shows how these new grades relate to the legacy grades under the former grading system. For further information regarding this, please see gov.uk.

Comments are closed.